SSMO (and why can’t I quote so it’s obvious to whom I am responding?): McCaw has made tactical mistakes before and will do so again. Not convinced these are closely linked to his future in the team. The reality is the match was closely fought, NZ nearly got out of jail despite struggling throughout but couldn’t quite pull it off. Either team could have won – there have been other occasions during the unbeaten run where NZ escaped against the odds.
The final penalty does raise the question of the influence of the video screen in rugby internationals, when the pictures shown within the ground end up having an influence on the referee and the home broadcaster controls what is displayed. It’s ludicrous that a referee can look at a big screen replay and then decide to call the TMO.
Signman: ridiculous to blame Barnes, and lame to still hold that one match against him. Too stubborn and sure of himself to be one of the best in the business, but the claim he always rules against NZ is without basis.
That said, I’m really tired of the logic that every player trying to intercept a pass with one hand is guilty of a penalisable deliberate knock-down. The idea that the intercepting player has to successfully catch the ball for the act to be legal is just nonsense.